30 Acts of Kindness Before 30

The Dirty Thirty is usually an age many women hesitate to celebrate! In order to lesson the blow, and hold myself accountable to active kindness, I decided to release a “30 Acts of Kindness Before 30” Project. On December 20th, 2015, I posted a reflection of the 2015 year, with a list of 30 goals to achieve before my 30th birthday – January 25, 2017. (That’s soon, guys! Yikes!)

2016 certainly has been challenging for me, but I cannot discredit the lessons learned. Fortunately, as we approach my 30th year, I have completed 29 of the 30 goals. I am still struggling to convince people to donate money to the Water Project, however, I’ll see this final goal through even if it carries over into my 30th year. I shared this list only to inspire others to celebrate each year gifted of life with kindness toward others. Though I continued to volunteer/donate in other ways not listed, this list helped hold me accountable for active kindness. I shared this ONLY to inspire others to do the same. I hope you accept the challenge – even if you prefer to keep your list private. (I will be keeping my lists/deeds private for the following years.)

Please read my list, and come up with your own personal ways to spread active love.

-Cheers! ❤

images

 

Below is the note I published on December 20th, 2015

This year, like so many years prior, has gone rather well for me. I was offered a position I had been striving toward for a while, Niko and I were certified as a therapy team, I was accepted to Boston University’s Master of Science in Project Management program, and my Tuition Reimbursement Request (for the MSPM program) was approved by my place of employment. These are only a few highlights from the year. Like every year, and just like in life, there were peaks and pits; however, it is hard to look upon them both and not realize how much the peaks overshadow any pits. This is true for not only this year, but for my life. I was born into a developed country with endless opportunities awaiting me. Though there are clearly things not perfect here that we need to change, I am lucky to be born here where there is opportunity. I am healthy, and have never had to feel as if I were “fighting for my life”. I have never had to worry about dying of hunger or thirst, and I received a free public education from Kindergarten through my Senior Year of High School. I found learning easy. I am grateful that I have never struggled with learning. I attended a highly ranked private university, Wittenberg, and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts at age 22. I was lucky enough to find employment in a horrible economy, and now have a career that I love, with a team and company I enjoy. I am able to do things I love and can afford to spend money on these extracurricular activities “for fun”. Overall, looking back at my 28 (almost 29) years, I’ve had countless blessings bestowed upon me. In honor of these blessings, I have decided to spend the last year of my 20s working toward a #30Before30 goal. This goal entails performing 30 Acts of Kindness before my 30th Birthday, as a blessing is not truly realized until it is paid forward.

As you can see, I need help for projects 1-13, please! Let me know if you can help provide any items for the donations!

For convenience, I have added the donation items that will need to be unused/purchased to an Amazon Wish List. These items can be purchased and automatically shipped to me and I will then donate them appropriately, as outlined below. Please click here to view my Amazon #30Before30 Wish List.

Projects:

  1. Clean Water Fundraiser – $500
    This will provide approximately 15 people in the eastern region of Africa with clean/safe water for the rest of their lives! I donated $30 to start the project on 12/19/15. Please share and donate if possible! Please visit the Fundraiser Page Here and Donate and/or SHARE the link on Facebook: Jessica’s 30Before30 Clean Water Campaign
  2. Inspire Someone to Sponsor a Child Long-Term.
    Completed
  3. Donate 30 Children’s Books.
    Completed – I donated closer to 50!
  4. Donate 30 Teen/Adult Books.
    Completed – I donated closer to 40!
  5. Donate 30 Toothbrushes to a Shelter.
    Completed
  6. Donate 30 Tubes of Toothpaste to a Shelter.
    Completed
  7. Donate 30 Pantry Items.
    Completed
  8. Collect 30 Notebooks for a Back-to-School Campaign.
    Completed
  9. Collect 30 Pencil Packs for a Back-to-School Campaign.
    Completed
  10. Collect 30 2-Pocket Folders for a Back-to-School Campaign.
    Completed
  11. Donate 30 Feminine Hygiene Products to a Shelter.
    Completed
  12. Donate 30 Women’s Items to Project Woman.
    Completed
  13. Donate 30 Clothing Items to a Shelter.
    Completed
  14. Pay for the Order of the Car Behind Me in a Drive Thru.
    Completed
  15. Perform at a Senior Complex.
    Completed
  16. Tip a Server 30%.
    Completed
  17. Continue Sponsoring a Child Long-Term.
    Completed
    I have been sponsoring a little boy for three years now named Hamilton, who was also in need of physical therapy. It is rewarding to see how he has changed in the photo updates based on the therapy he is receiving. This is Auto-Deducted Monthly. Please consider doing this, as you won’t regret it! Let me know if you need information. It can be done for as little as $15 a month.
  18. Pay $30 Toward the Groceries of the Next Person in Line.
    Completed
  19. Give Small Gifts of Appreciation to Client Team at Work.
    Completed
  20. Donate $30 to a Local School.
    Completed
  21. Donate $30 to a School Out of Town.
    Completed
  22. Perform at a Concert Benefiting Charity.
    Completed
  23. Donate 3 Devotionals to a Local Rehabilitation Center.
    Completed
  24. Donate Toys to the Local Humane Society.
    Completed
  25. Volunteer at a Local Food/Soup Kitchen.
    Completed
  26. Buy a Stranger’s Dinner at a Restaurant.
    Completed
  27. Inspire Someone to Complete their Own Acts of Kindness Campaign.
    Completed
  28. Become a Tutor at the Local Literacy Center.
    Pending – Scheduled for Certification in February.
  29. Compliment 30 People I Know.
    Completed
  30. Compliment 30 Strangers.
    Completed
This entry was posted in Philanthropy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

